

Illinois Association of CHIEFS OF POLICE

January 30, 2024

Chief Michael DeVries Downers Grove Police Department 825 Burlington Ave Downers Grove, IL 60515

RE: ILACP Use of Force Certification

Dear Chief DeVries:

On behalf of the Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police (ILACP), which manages the Illinois Law Enforcement Accreditation Program (ILEAP), this letter certifies that the Downers Grove Police Department meets the ILACP use of force eligibility requirements, set forth by the Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police.

Following our review, we have determined that the Downers Grove Police Department meets the conditions for certification in that the use of force policy has been reviewed and determined to comply with state and federal laws, the United Nations document on less lethal technology, as well as SAFE-T Act provisions. Force provisions center around Graham vs. Connor, deadly force, rendering aid after force, the duty to intervene, review of force incidents, taser application, and the prohibition on chokeholds unless deadly force is authorized.

Accordingly, the Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police will include your agency going forward within our database of use of force certified law enforcement agencies. This certification is active for three years beginning with the date on this letter.

Congratulations on achieving this certification. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

my hinde

Kenny Winslow Executive Director

Board of Officers 2023-2024

President Chief Laura King McHenry County Conservation District PD (Ret.)

1st Vice President Chief Marc Maton Lemont Police Dept.

2nd Vice President Chief Joe Leonas Lincolnshire Police Dept.

3rd Vice President Chief Dan Ryan Leland Grove Police Dept.

Immediate Past President Chief Louis Jogmen Highland Park Police Dept

VP at Large, Region 1 Chief Kirk Brueggeman O'Fallon Police Dept.

VP at Large, Region 2 Chief Darren Gault Moline Police Dept.

VP at Large, Region 3 Chief Patrick Kreis Vernon Hills Police Dept.

Parliamentarian Steve Casstevens Buffalo Grove Police Dept. (Ret.)

Executive Director Kenny Winslow