

UT Health San Antonio

INSTITUTIONAL HANDBOOK OF OPERATING POLICIES

1.4.4 Faculty Senate

Chapter 1 - Administration and Organization	Original Effective Date: September 2003
Section: 1.4 Faculty	Date Last Reviewed: August 2017
Responsible Entity: Vice President for Academic, Faculty and Student Affairs	Date Last Revised: August 2017

I. Purpose

To establish the role and responsibilities of the Faculty Senate for UT Health San Antonio.

II. Scope

This Policy applies institution-wide to all current and prospective members of the Faculty Senate.

III. Policy

A. Purpose and Responsibility

In keeping with Rule 40101 of The University of Texas Regents' Rules and Regulations the Faculty Senate will contribute actively to the goals and missions of the UT Health San Antonio (UTHSA) for its ultimate benefit and improvement; provide a means for campus-wide communication among the faculty of all of the Schools and departments, as well as between the faulty and the administration; and serve as the representative voice of the faculty on issues that may affect the rights, privileges, responsibilities and welfare of the faculty of UTHSA. Decisions reached by the Faculty Senate may be presented as recommendations to the President of the University, the Deans of the individual Schools of the University, the Faculty Assemblies of the various Schools of UTHSA, and the various University and School committees and administrators. In addition, the Faculty Senate may forward recommendations to The University of Texas System Faculty Advisory Council, or the office of the Chancellor and Board of Regents of The University of Texas System, as appropriate and as specified by the Regents' Rules and Regulations.

Template version: 2021-01

B. Bylaws

The purpose, responsibilities, and structure of the Faculty Senate are further described and defined in the Senate Bylaws posted on the Faculty Government web page at http://www.uthscsa.edu/facultygovt/.

C. Membership Voting and Bylaws

Each of the five Schools of UTHSA are to be represented in the Senate based on the following allocation: Health Professions, 4; Dental, 4; Graduate, 4; Medical, 8; and, Nursing, 4.

The appropriateness of the numbers of Senate positions in each School shall be reviewed every five years, in the years ending with 0 or 5. If the numbers and distribution of Senate members representing each School is changed, Senate approval is required by the means described for amending the Bylaws. At no time will the minimum number of faculty representatives for each School be fewer than four.

The following individuals are to serve as ex-officio members of the Senate without a vote: the President of UTHSA, or the President's designee; and, the Chairs of the Faculty Assemblies or their designee (if the Chair is not an elected Senator).

D. Voting Privileges

Excluding those faculty who hold administrative positions in the University, all other UTHSA faculty members holding the rank of Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, or Professor, as defined by the Regents' Rules and Regulations, tenured or non-tenured, who are employed full-time by the University will be eligible for both membership in the Senate, and for voting privileges in elections for Senate positions. In addition, all full-time faculty at the instructor level who have been employed for at least two academic years will be eligible to vote on Senate membership. The non-eligible administrative faculty will be defined as all who are included in the line structure of the University from the President through and including all Vice Presidents, Deans and sub-level Deans, and the Chairs of the academic departments. In the event that a faculty member has joint responsibilities in two or more operating units of UTHSA, voting privileges on Senate membership are granted for only the School of primary appointment.

E. Officers

There are three officers of the Senate: Chair, Chair-Elect, and Immediate Past Chair. The Chair-Elect is to be elected each year; he or she succeeds to the Chair the following year, and to Immediate Past-Chair the year after that. All members

of the Senate, except the ex-officio members, are eligible to be officers of the Senate.

F. Committees

The day-to-day business of the Senate is primarily carried out through the activities of its committees. In addition to the Senate Executive Committee, there will be three types of working committees: the Standing Committees, the ad hoc Committees, and the Committee on Committees which provides input on the membership of all committees except itself.

The Senate Executive Committee is composed of the Senate's Chair, Chair-Elect, and Immediate Past Chair, plus the Chair of the Senate's Committee on Committees and the Chairs of the Senate's Standing Committees. The Executive Committee will be chaired by the Senate Chair. The Executive Committee functions as the administrative council of the Senate and assists the Chair in all aspects of managing the affairs of the Senate. In addition, the Executive Committee is to take actions specified by other parts of these Bylaws, including the setting of the agenda for all regular meetings of the Senate.

There are five Standing Committees of the Senate: Academic Affairs, Scholarly Activities and Faculty Service, Faculty Governance, Faculty Status and Welfare and Institutional Committee Appointments.

The Senate's Committee on Committees oversees the organization of all standing and ad hoc Senate committees, including recommending faculty members to the Chair of the Senate, for appointment to each Committee. The Committee on Committees also oversees the solicitation of nominees for Chair-Elect of the Senate

G. Term of Office

Terms of office for Senate members will be three years, commencing on September 1 of the calendar year elected. A maximum of two consecutive three-year terms is allowed for each member of the Senate. After serving two consecutive three year terms, a faculty member can be elected in any but the immediate subsequent election cycle. The terms of office of Senators are to be staggered, when possible, such that approximately one-third of the membership from each School is elected each year. A roll of the Senate membership, including the dates of election of each member, will be held and maintained by the Chair of the Senate, with the assistance of the Chair-Elect.

IV. Definitions

There are no defined terms used in this Policy.

1.4.4 Faculty Senate

V. Related References

There are no related documents associated with this Policy.

VI. Review and Approval History

- A. The approving authority of this policy is the University Executive Committee.
- B. The review frequency cycle is set for three years following the last review date, a time period that is not mandated by regulatory, accreditation, or other authority.

Effective Date	Action Taken	Approved By	Date Approved
09/2003	Policy Origination		
08/2017	Policy Revision		

Template version: 2021-01 Page 4 of 4