

UT Health San Antonio

INSTITUTIONAL HANDBOOK OF OPERATING POLICIES

1.4.3 Faculty Assemblies

Chapter 1 - Administration and Organization	Original Effective Date: June 2000
Section: 1.4 Faculty	Date Last Reviewed: March 2012
Responsible Entity: Vice President for Academic, Faculty and Student Affairs	Date Last Revised: March 2012

I. Purpose

To establish the authority, responsibility, and purpose of individual faculty assemblies for the schools of UT Health San Antonio.

II. Scope

This Policy applies institution-wide to all current and prospective participants of faculty assemblies.

III. Policy

A. Purpose and Responsibility

The individual faculty assemblies of the Dental School, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, the School of Medicine, the School of Health Professions, and the School of Nursing shall be subject to the authority of the Board of Regents and the authority vested in various administrative officers and subdivisions of The University of Texas System. The members of the Faculty Assembly shall exhibit an active interest in the progress and future of the Schools and shall be responsible for active participation in major planning for the Schools and the campus as a whole. They shall accept responsibility for performing those functions essential to the maintenance and conduct of programs of excellence in all activities of the School. Areas of interest include, but are not limited to, general academic policies and welfare; student life and activities; requirements of admission and graduation; honors and scholastic performance generally; approval of candidates for degrees; and faculty rules of procedure. In addition, the Faculty Assembly may consult with the Deans on general administrative affairs and on matters pertaining to the development of each School.

B. Membership, Voting, and Bylaws

Template version: 2021-01

1. Dental School

The Faculty Assembly of the Dental School shall consist of all full-time faculty of departments of the Dental School. Officers shall be elected at the May meeting and shall assume office at the September meeting of that year. Each member of the Assembly shall have one vote; there will be no absentee or proxy votes. Copies of the Bylaws of the Dental School's Faculty Assembly are available in the Office of the Dental Dean, as well as offices of the Dental department Chairs.

2. Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

The Faculty Assembly of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences shall consist of any full-time faculty member who holds an academic appointment in a department or comparable unit of UTHSA which participates in an approved graduate program upon nomination by the appropriate Committee on Graduate Studies. Such nomination and approval will be dependent on evidence of professional competence to serve as an active participant in graduate education.

Every three years an assessment of each member's participation will be certified by the Committee on Graduate Studies. Copies of the Bylaws of the Graduate Faculty Assembly are available in the Graduate Dean's Office.

3. School of Medicine

The Faculty Assembly of the School of Medicine shall consist of all full-time medical faculty holding the rank of Professor, Associate Professor, Assistant Professor, and Instructor. Each member of the Assembly shall have one vote. Copies of the Bylaws of the School of Medicine's Faculty Assembly are available in the Medical Dean's Office.

4. School of Health Professions

The Faculty Assembly of the School of Health Professions shall be composed of members and special members of the Health Professions Faculty. The Health Professions faculty meeting as a body shall constitute the Assembly. The Health Professions faculty shall be composed of persons qualified by their scholarly and teaching accomplishments to participate in the education of Health Professions students. Voting privileges and holding office in the Assembly shall be restricted to those faculty members whose primary appointment is with The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio and who are employed at least 50% time. Copies of the Bylaws of the Health Professions Faculty Assembly are available in the Office of the Health Professions' Dean Office.

5. School of Nursing

The Faculty Assembly of the School of Nursing consists of 1) voting members – all faculty having at least 0.5 FTE appointment for a full academic year, 2) non-voting members – other academic appointees shall be associate members, 3) ex-officio members – President of UTHSA and Deans of Schools within UTHSA and other individuals from UTHSA shall be selected as deemed appropriate by Faculty Assembly. <u>Faculty Assembly Bylaws</u> are posted on the School of Nursing website, under About Us - Administration.

C. Officers and Terms of Office

1. Dental School

The officers of the Dental Faculty Assembly shall be Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and two representatives to the Faculty Council. These elected officers must be from the voting membership of the Assembly.

The Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary shall hold the faculty rank of Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, or Professor. Representatives shall hold a rank of Instructor, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, or Professor, and one shall be from a clinical Department and the other from a Basic Sciences department. Each officer shall serve for a term of one year. The Secretary shall be installed without election as Vice Chair and the Vice Chair shall be installed without election as Chair

2. Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

The officers of the Graduate Faculty Assembly shall be a Chair, Chair-Elect, and Secretary, elected annually by the Faculty Assembly from its membership according to the Bylaws for one year terms.

3. School of Medicine

The officers of the School of Medicine's Faculty Assembly shall be Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary/Treasurer and two Faculty Council representatives (one from basic science faculty and one from clinical faculty) elected annually by the Faculty Assembly from its membership for a one year term according to the Bylaws.

4. School of Health Professions

Officers of the Health Professions Faculty Assembly Chair Vice Chair and Secretary. The vice Chair and Secretary are elected by the membership annually in accordance with the Bylaws: The Chair assumes the office after serving one year in the office of Vice Chair during the previous year.

5. School of Nursing

The elected officers of the School of Nursing Faculty Assembly shall be a Chair, a Chair-Elect, and a Secretary. Terms are for one year, June 1 through May 31.

1.4.3 Faculty Assemblies

IV. Definitions

There are no defined terms used in this Policy.

V. Related References

There are no related documents associated with this Policy.

VI. Review and Approval History

- A. The approving authority of this policy is the University Executive Committee.
- B. The review frequency cycle is set for three years following the last review date, a time period that is not mandated by regulatory, accreditation, or other authority.

Effective Date	Action Taken	Approved By	Date Approved
06/2000	Policy Origination		
03/2012	Policy Revision		

Template version: 2021-01 Page 4 of 4